Indian Time - A Voice from the Eastern Door

17th Annual Robideau/Lamitie-King Exhibit Award Winners


Camryn Buckshot won 1st place for Mixed Media for her basket. She takes Katsitsionni Fox's Haudenosaunee Arts Class. Photo submitted by Katsitsionni Fox.

Submitted by Beverly Quenville

The Opening Reception and Awards Ceremony for the Robideau/Lamitie-King Juried Exhibit for Middle and High School students from 6 area schools took place on Saturday, April 14, 2018 at the Wead Library. This annual event, in memory of Norbert Robideau and in honor of Karen Lamitie-King, has been sponsored by Foothills ARTSociety for the past 17 years. Juror for the exhibit was Elaine Taylor, a professional artist who teaches at NCCC in Saranac Lake and in Malone. Elaine earned her MA and MFA from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her current work includes large-scale installations and playful sculptures and drawings.

Each of the student artists received a participation certificate. Students represented the following schools: Brushton-Moira, Chateaugay, Franklin Academy, Holy Family, Malone Middle School and Salmon River. The show will remain hung at the Wead Library until April 28. In addition to student work, professional artist Geoff Cobb has several drawings and sculptures on display. Geoff was sponsored by Foothills ARTSociety and the Wead Library to be an Artist-in-Residence and facilitate a special workshop "Peas in a Pod" on Saturday. The finished sculpture was given to the library for public display.

Middle School Honorable Mention certificates and art pencils were awarded to Karennahawi Barnes for "Cake", Kali Mayville for "Self Portrait", Anya Derouchie-Pyke for "Anna Kendrick", Bailey Trainer for "Untitled", Gianna Thompson for "Wonders", Emma Hesseltine for "Stop Hunger", and Angela Dwyer for "Snowflake". The Middle School Drawing Award was presented to Chateaugay student Hunter Martin for "Camilla." The MS Painting Award was presented to Malone Middle School student Caroline Robinson for "Selfie". The recipient of the MS Sculpture Award was Trystan Bolster from Malone Middle School for "Nevelson." Receiving the MS Mixed Media Award was Samantha Clookey for "In The Flowers." Honorable Mention winners were presented with certificates and art pencils. Award winners were presented with certificates as well as sketchbooks and an art pencil set.

High School Honorable Mention Certificates were awarded to Daniel Thompson for "Eagle", Peyton Cook for "SK8- Hi Pro", Victoria Hanna for "Apple Blossoms", Kassy Tough for "Owl Eye", Chance Stansbury for "Clepto", Libbie Tarbell for "The Dancing Dot", Liam Smyth for "Untitled", Tiarra Anderson for "Mocs" and Breanna Sherron for "Dinner and Dessert". In addition to certificates each HM student was presented with art pencils. The HS Drawing Award was presented to Salmon River student Lauren Martin for "Shades of Youth". Chateaugay student Elara Martin received the HS Painting Award for "Fancy Flowers". The HS Sculpture Award recipient was Brushton-Moira student Kalyn Middeker for "Kandinsky Transformation". The HS Mixed Media Award winner was Salmon River student Camryn Buckshot for "Earth Basket." Each Award winner was presented with a certificate as well as an inscribed wooden plaque with a photograph of their winning entry.

Nolie Thompson. Photo submitted by Jenifer Backus

Also announced at Saturday's reception was the recipient of the Foothills ARTSociety's annual scholarship. Foothills ARTSociety Board members, Melissa Benardot and Barry Armstrong presented the Foothills Scholarship to FA Senior Kamden Spicer. Kamden has been accepted in the TV-Video Production department at SUNY Plattsburgh. Kamden stated, "Although his primary collegiate goal is to acquire the knowledge and skills upon which he can build a successful career, he is also looking forward to learning about advanced techniques and resources which will provide him with new ideas for expressing himself though the art of video production."

At the end of the reception an acrylic painting, donated by professional artist, Arnie Sauther, was raffled off. The winner of "Floating Flowers" was Rick Auger. Foothills ARTSociety would like to thank the Wead Library for hosting this show again this year and everyone who helped to make this annual exhibit a success again this year.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018