Indian Time - A Voice from the Eastern Door

CKON Hosts Annual Sock Hop


The dance floor was packed for the Twist contest with Catherine (Tarbell) Cook comeing out as the winner.

On Friday May 18th, The Akwesasne Mohawk Casino co-hosted this year's Annual Sock Hop, organized by CKON. The event began at 6 pm, with DJ Buck Wild emceeing the event. This event was similar to last year's Sock Hop with some of the same dance contests that were held at last year's Sock Hop. There were five different contests, with the lucky winners walking away with $97 US.

The winners of the Jitterbug Contest - Markus and Kathleen Mueller.

The first contest was the Twist contest, with several judges there to pick who was the best. The second contest was the Jitterbug contest, with one couple blowing everyone away with their Jitterbugging skills. The third contest was the Pony contest, which went one for quite a while, the judges had a hard time picking the winner. The fourth contest was the best dressed, for the women, with one lucky lady winning by a round of applause. The last contest was the best dressed for the men, with only a handful of men to judge. The Men's best dressed came down to an epic dance off between the two men who came dressed to impress.

Diane McDonald, General Manager of CKON stated, "The age limit for the event was 18 and up so that everyone, single mothers and elders, for example could have a night out without the kids. The event was a drug and alcohol free event, and we also considered the elders when we set the time for the event, because we are aware some have a hard time driving in the dark. We set the admission at $3.00, only to make enough money to cover the prize money and any costs for the event. It was another successful Sock Hop, with another one planned for the same time next year."

CKON held their first Sock Hop last year that had such a great turnout, CKON decided to make it an annual event.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018