Indian Time - A Voice from the Eastern Door

Seniors Shine as Mocs Tame Lions

Mocs Will Host First Round of DSC Tournament


Jon Freda and Mat Thompson each netted three goals, while Andrew Almansberger made six saves, as Florida Southern defeated Saint Leo 14-10 Saturday night at Bryant Stadium. With the win the Moccasins clinched the #2 seed in the South Region of the Deep South Conference Tournament and will host Saint Leo in the first round Tuesday night at 7 p.m.

Florida Southern (8-5; 6-2 DSC) got off to a fast start, as Chas LaDue won the opening faceoff. On the ensuing possession Ricky DeMicco picked up a ground ball in front of the cage and scored  to give the Mocs a 1-0 lead. Minutes later, Adam Ismaeil drove the length of the field and scored an unassisted goal. On the Mocs’ next possession Freda scored his 12th goal of the season to give the Mocs a 3-0 lead six minutes into the game. The Lions got on the board as Chris Caiazza connected with Kevin Hutchinson for a goal. The Mocs responded, as Freda scored his second goal of the game to give the Mocs a 4-1 lead. Saint Leo scored a late goal to cut the lead to 4-2 after the opening quarter.

Dane Sorensen and DeMicco scored back-to-back goals to start the second quarter and extend the Mocs lead to 6-2. The Lions scored two of the next three goals to cut the lead to 7-4. Sorensen scored his 26th goal of the season with 23 seconds remaining in the first half. Dan Krispinsky won the ensuing faceoff and DeMicco found Sorensen for a goal just before the buzzer to give the Mocs a 9-4 lead at the break.

In the third quarter Saint Leo (7-6; 4-4 DSC) scored back-to-back-goals to cut the lead to 9-6, then the Moccasins scored three unanswered goals to take a 12-6 lead after three quarters. Freda had a part in all three goals, scoring one and assisting the other two.

In the fourth quarter, Florida Southern took advantage of a Lions’ penalty as Shane Tompkins found Thompson for a man-up goal. Saint Leo scored four of the final five goals of the game for the 14-10 final.

The Moccasins have won five straight games, the longest win streak in program history, breaking the previous streak of four set in 2009. They also have tied a program-high with eight wins in a season, which was set last year.

Freda led the Moccasins with six points, while Thompson, Sorensen, and DeMicco each tallied three.

Almansberger finished the game with a team high five ground balls, while Larry Gress tallied three caused turnovers and four ground balls. Chase Juelich and Spencer Parry combined for five ground balls and one caused turnover. The Moccasins’ defense held the Lions scoreless on eight man-up opportunities.

Times and Seeding set for Conference Lacrosse Championships

In his second season head coach Marty Ward has lead the Moccasins lacrosse team to program highs in wins and conference wins captured the second seed in the South Region for the Deep South Conference Tournament, which takes place this week.  Florida Southern will face Saint Leo Tuesday night at 7 p.m. at Bryant Stadium.

The Moccasins won the regular season meeting with the Lions, defeating them 1 4-10 last Saturday. In that game the Mocs outscored Saint Leo 9-4 in the first half en route to a 14-10 win. Jon Freda, Dane Sorensen, and Mat Thompson each netted three goals in the win.

The conference is divided into the north and south regions. Catawba, Lenoir-Rhyne, Mars Hill, and Wingate make up the north region, while Florida Southern, Florida Tech, Rollins, Saint Leo, and Tampa are in the south region. Only the top three teams in the regions make the tournament.

In the North Region, Catawba will host Wingate in the opening round game Tuesday at 7 p.m. The winner of that game will take on Mars Hill, which received a bye, Thursday night at 7 p.m.

The winner of the Florida Southern-Saint Leo game will face Tampa, which received a bye, Thursday night at 7 p.m.

The winner of each region will play for the Deep South Conference Championship on Sunday in Mars Hill, N.C. at 1 p.m.


Thursday, April 12

North Region

Game one winner at #1 seed Mars Hill (7 p.m.)

South Region

Game one winner at #1 seed Tampa (7 p.m.)

Sunday, April 15

Championship Game @ Mars Hill, N.C.: North Region winner vs. South Region winner (1 p.m.)


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 08/26/2019 04:17