Indian Time - A Voice from the Eastern Door

Notice to the Community


This is to inform the community that the following persons have applied for Akwesasne Membership and/or Residency Permits.

Charles Seymour, age 22, son of the late Shirley Seymour, Akwesasne and James Russell Nanticoke, Six Nations.

Tory Beaty, age 18, daughter of Troy Lazore, Akwesasne and Carol Beaty, a non-native.

Sandra Smoke, daughter of Laurie Smoke, Akwesasne.

Natasha George, daughter of Rachel George, Akwesasne.

Laura Thompson, daughter of Marlene Thompson, Akwesasne.

Javan Cook, age 18, and Sarah Cook, age 17, daughters of Nora Cook, Akwesasne and Albert Nashacappo, of Yellow Quill, Saskatchewan.

Community members have until Friday, August 10 to indicate whether they wish to make submissions regarding the above applicants.

At the Membership Board’s July 7 meeting, the Board approved membership for Konwahentawi, Thomas Cook and denied membership for Harmony Lazore. At their July 12 meeting the Board approved membership for Cory Thomas, and probationary membership for Leah Benedict and Brian Brodner.

Any member of the community can protest the Membership Board’s decision, a notice of protest must be directed to the Council of Elders within 30 days. For information on any of the above individuals, please contact the Office of Vital Statistics, Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, located at the Cornwall Island Administration #3 at (613) 575-2250 ext. 1011.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 09/23/2019 09:05