Indian Time - A Voice from the Eastern Door


The 2017 Hogansburg Akwesasne Volunteer Fire Department Banquet


L-R: Station 3 Captain Kevin "Sturge" Lazore, 3rd Assistant Chief Issac McDonald, Fire Chief Clinton Jacobs, 2016 Officer of the Year Station 2 Captain Ben Benedict, 1st Assistant Chief Mike Adams, Station 1 Chief Cameron Mitchell and 2nd Assistant Chief Christopher Adams. Photo by Joe Francis.

On Saturday, February 25, 2017 the annual Hogansburg Akwesasne Volunteer Fire Department Banquet was held at the American Legion Post 1479.

A delicious meal was served after a cocktail hour, followed by the awards presentation done by President Derek Comins and Treasurer Jason McDonald. There were several door prizes up for grabs, including a Casino stay, and many more from other local businesses.

Also present were guests from Fire Departments and agencies from surrounding areas including Bombay, Cornwall, Burke and others.

The awards began with the Non-member Appreciation Award, which was given to the Snye Recreation Committee this year.

The 2016 Rookie of the Year was Owen White. President Comins said, "This firefighter has been instrumental in the upkeep of apparatus, and always keeps a positive attitude. He has been a great addition to our department and we appreciate all he has done for us and continues to do."

Next were the Captain's Awards, one person is chosen from each station. Recipients were: for Station 1 - Lance Lafrance, for Station 2 - Nelson Leaf, and for Station 3 - Nicholas Kiio Jacobs.

Treasurer Jason McDonald next presented the Teamwork Award. Five firefighters were honored for their involvement in the June 2015 St. Laurent Cruise Ship Crash.

"Captain Issac McDonald, now 3rd Assistant Chief, Captain Ben Benedict, Firefighter Cory Tarbell, Firefighter Thomas Francis, and Chief Derek Comins, now President, displayed teamwork, professionalism, and efficiency, while working with Massena Fire, Massena Rescue, and many law enforcement agencies," said McDonald.

Fire Chief Clint Jacobs, Nicholas Kiio Jacobs, recipient of both Station 3 Captain's Award and 2016 Fire Fighter of the Year, 1st Assistant Chief Mike Adams, Station 3 Captain Kevin "Sturge" Lazore and Station 2 Captain Ben Benedict.

The 25% Club consists of fireman that respond to at least 25 % of calls for each month, for a year. Firefighters that belong to this impressive club for 2016 are Chris Adams, Stanley Cook, Clint Jacobs, Kiio Jacobs, Kevin M. Lazore, Mat Lazore, Issac McDonald and Cameron Mitchell. Twin Leaf provided gift cards for these awards.

The 2016 Officer of the Year was Ben Benedict. Officer Benedict was described as a "motivator, mentor, and responsible for the purchase of multiple pieces of equipment and renovations."

The Housekeeping Award was presented to Station 2. Lieutenant Casey Swamp and Station 2 Captain Ben Benedict received the plaque on behalf of the station.

The 2016 Fire Fighter of the Year was presented to Nicholas Kiio Jacobs.

A special Appreciation Award was presented to Richard Phillips. Jason McDonald presented Phillips with an award for holding the HAVFD Presidency for 38 years saying, "He will always be known as Mr. President."


Reader Comments

Rendered 03/07/2017 12:23